top of page
Search

Make a Racket Playing Tennis




Tennis is one of my favorite sports to play with my parents. It is easy to become better at and it does not require a lot of technique. I also enjoy playing because it is intense aerobic exercise for short periods of time. My mom got me started on tennis lessons when I was young because she played tennis throughout high

school, but if you have never played or have not played in a long time, it is not hard to pick up again.



Finding a place to play tennis is pretty easy and tennis rackets and balls are not hard to pack. My family and I regularly play tennis at Mt. Hawley Country Club over the summer, but we also play when we go on vacation in Arizona or Texas. On top of that, most high schools and parks have tennis courts. There are a ton of tennis courts at Dunlap which is nice because both the boy's and girl's team are huge. Sommer Park also has two really nice tennis courts and is just outside of Dunlap but is still in the Dunlap district. I usually got my lessons at Sommer park when I was younger.



I was always told that a couple of basic parts of tennis are serving, forward hand, backhand, and volley. Serving is the first hit to start of the rally. This is usually a huge swing that goes really fast and puts spin on the ball. A forward hand swing is simply that. It is hitting the ball on the same side you are holding the racket. A backhand swing is just the opposite of a forward hand swing where you hit the ball on the opposite side you are holding the racket. A volley is more often used when there are more people on the court but it is when a player is close to the net and blocks a shot right over the net. This usually results in the ball hitting close to the net on the other side.



My favorite part about tennis is that it is easy to pick up if you have not played in a while. My family and I do not play in the winter unless we are on vacation so when we go out in the summer it is a little rough at first. After one or two times playing we are able to rally the ball back and forth. Professionals either play singles or doubles which means that there is either one person on each side of the net or there are two. Since just my parents and I play we take turns being the single player.


Playing tennis is another way that I stay active and try new things. I love this sport because there are so many places you can play and it is easy to do unlike golf or swimming. On top of that, it is great exercise.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page